Skip to main content

Game Entry Prices

Students MUST always carry their ASB Card

 

VOLLEYBALL/BASKETBALL

Free for Home Student w/ASB Card

$6 for General Admission

$3 for K - 8th grade with Adult, Visiting Student w/ASB Card, Senior Citizen (62 & up)

 

FOOTBALL

Free or Home Student w/ASB Card

$10 for General Admission

$5 for K - 8th grade with Adult, Visiting Student w/ASB Card, Senior Citizen (62 & up)

Equitable Athletic Participation DatA

Athletics

2018-19 Athlete Clearance is ONLINE

  1. Create/Complete Online Account
  2. See a Doctor
  3. Upload* the clearance form from the doctor
  4. Upload* copy of Medical Insurance Card
  5. Print, sign and turn in the Confirmation/Consent page 

Confirmation/Consent page is written permission from the parent/guardian for the student athlete to participate

*if you have trouble uploading, turn in at the Athletic Office

Clearance Instructions

Clearance instructions in ESPANOL   

 Physical (CHDP) Form    

Go directly to AthleticClearance.com

CONTACT the Athletic Office:

 Athletic Director: Nate Goellrich ngoellrich@nmusd.us 949-515-6558

Support Secretary: Marykay Jones mpjones@nmusd.us 949-515-6508

Contact a Head Varsity Coach

Baseball: Kevin Conlin coachkevinconlin@gmail.com

Basketball (Girls): Judd Fryslie jfryslie@nmggeotech.com

Basketball (Boys): Xavi Castellano xcastellano@nmusd.us

Cheer: Yumi Watantabe ypatterson@estanciacheer.com

Cross Country (Boys): Charlie Appell estanciaxc@hotmail.com

Cross Country (Girls): Ruby Mejia rmejia@nmusd.us

Football: Mike Bargas mbargas@nmusd.us

Golf (Girls): Brian Burgess bburgess@nmusd.us

Golf (Boys): Art Perry aperry@nmusd.us

Softball: Kari Gutierrez kagutierrez@nmusd.us 

Soccer (Girls): Joshua Juarez juarezgwc@gmail.com

Soccer (Boys): Robert Castellano rcastellano@nmusd.us

Swim (Girls): Amber Peters apeters@nmusd.us

Swim (Boys): Matthew Frazier coachfrazier242@gmail.com

Tennis (Girls): Kevin Springer kevin.springer52@gmail.com

Tennis (Boys): Freddy Polanco f.polanco1990@yahoo.com

Track & Field: Matthew Redding mredding@nmusd.us

Volleyball (Girls/Boys): Alejandro De Mendoza alejandrocollege@gmail.com

Water Polo (Girls/Boys): Matthew Frazier coachfrazier242@gmail.com

Wrestling: Abraham Aguilar aabraham2793@gmail.com

Participation in Athletic Competition (AR 6145.2)

AR 6145.2 Athletic Competition

The district's athletic program shall be free from discrimination and discriminatory practices in accordance with state and federal law. Superintendent or designee shall ensure that equivalent athletic opportunities are provided for both sexes.

 

No student shall be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, be denied equivalent opportunity in, or otherwise be discriminated against in interscholastic, intramural, or club athletics based on race, color, ancestry, national origin, immigration status, ethnic group identification, age, religion, marital or parental status, pregnancy, physical or mental disability, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression or the perception of one or more of such characteristics; or association with a person or a group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics. (Education Codes 220, 221.5, 230; 5 CCR 4920; 34 CFR 106.41)

Title IX

Title IX is a comprehensive federal law that prohibits discrimination based on sex in any federally funded education program or activity.  Title IX in Athletics provides for: Equal Opportunities to Play Sports, Equal Treatment and Benefits in School Sports Programs, Prohibition of Retaliation when making a complaint about inequalities. 

N-MUSD Non-Discrimination Statement

The Newport Mesa Unified School District Board of Education is committed to equal opportunity for all individuals in education.  District programs, activities, practices, and employment shall be free from discrimination, harassment, intimidation, and bullying based on race, color, ancestry, national origin, immigration status, ethnic group identification, age, religion, marital or parental status, pregnancy, physical or mental disability, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression or the perception of one or more of such characteristics; or association with a person or a group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics. This policy applies to all acts related to school activity or school attendance within a school under the jurisdiction of the Superintendent. Any school employee who witnesses an incident of unlawful discrimination, including discriminatory harassment, intimidation, retaliation, or bullying, shall immediately intervene to stop the incident when it is safe to do so.

The Board designates the Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources as the Compliance Officer designated to receive and investigate complaints and ensure District compliance with state and federal laws and regulations including Title IX. The Compliance Officer may designate another District administrator to investigate complaints. If you have a complaint, you are to submit it in writing to:

Leona Olson
Assistant Superintendent, Chief Human Resources Officer
Title IX Coordinator & Compliance Officer
714-424-7589    lolson@nmusd.us

Parent Resources

N-MUSD Policies & Guidelines

Tryout Information

Try-out dates for all sports are subject to change due to circumstances beyond our control. 
 
Please contact the coach directly for up to date information regarding try-outs for their sport.
 
You must have a current physical and insurance information on file in the athletic office prior to any and all try-outs. 
 
All athletes must be cleared through the athletic department for participation; no exceptions.
 
Contact the coach from the middle of this page.